Geek Crafts: Knitting for Nerds!

Knits for Nerds book cover

I’m a huge nerd, and I’m also an avid crafter! That’s why I’m so excited about this new book: Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy by Joan of Dark a.k.a. Toni Carr.

There are some fantastic, geeky projects in this book, and they’re accompanied by photos and knitting instructions. Some of my favorites? Mobius scarf, Hobbit feet slippers, and the “Aim to Misbehave Brown Jacket.” I’m a crocheter, but this book might inspire me to pick up two sticks and learn to knit! Seriously! I can make my own Browncoat?! That is awesome.

Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects: Science Fiction, Comic Books, Fantasy

I got my free copy of Knits for Nerds from the publisher, but you can buy yours from Barnes & Noble. 🙂

Advertisements

What’s My Password? LastPass to the Rescue!

I’ve been trying to do the right thing when it comes to my passwords:

  • Use a unique password for every login.
  • Make the password complicated and hard to guess.
  • Don’t use words that can be found in the dictionary.
  • Include numbers, capital letters and symbols.
  • Don’t write down your login information.

In other words, choose the most random combination of letters/numbers/symbols, don’t write it down, and then remember dozens of these in your head. The problem is, not only does a great password make it hard for hackers to guess, but it also makes it impossible for ME to remember!

Tired of hearing me complain, “I can’t remember my password!” my husband recommended I try LastPass. It’s a service that stores all of your passwords and locks them up with one super-sneaky Master Password. “The Last Password You’ll Have to Remember.” So I gave it a try…

Download LastPass

I downloaded the free version of LastPass, which works on both my MacBook and Acer notebook. There is also a premium version for about $12/year.

I got it installed and set up my Master Password, gave LastPass permission to import all of my saved logins from my browsers, and started surfing. It seems to work like a charm! If I’ve already had my browser save a password, LastPass already knows it! If I need to create a new password, LastPass will generate a tricky one for me, fill it in, save it, and autofill it for me!

I haven’t tried the Premium version yet. I believe it includes support for managing passwords on my iPhone. I may need that, too. For now, LastPass is my new favorite online utility. No, this isn’t a paid review. But if LastPass wants to send me a free Premium membership, I’ll take it! 🙂 [EDIT: LastPass found this post and gave me a free year of Premium service, which means I can use it on my iPhone, too! yaaay! Thank you, LastPass!]

If you need help managing passwords, I think you should download LastPass and give it a try. Let me know what you think!